Japan – Days 2 to about 5

Japanese Panadol - perhaps...OK, so I lost track of how many days I’ve been here.  I’ll cover the major events and see how we go from there…  Tuesday arrived, delivering to me the worst headache I’ve had in a long time.  Of course, it would have helped if I’d brought some Panadol.  Note to self…  I spent a long day at the office (until about 6pm, to make up for the fact that I left at 4 on Monday due to a timezone issue…) nursing my head.  On the way back to the hotel, I dropped into a 7-11 style store, and spent some small amount of time trying to communicate to the man behind the checkout that my head hurt and I needed something for it.  After much effort, I eventually got something that looked kind of like what I wanted.  At least, it said “Pain / Fever Reliever” on  side – the ONLY English words on the box other than the brand.

It's Coke Jim, but not as we know itSpeaking of pain relief, the lack of good cofVarious cans...fee here has forced me to look elsewhere for my caffeine fix.  Coke is available here in all shapes and sizes – quite literally.  On the left is one sample from a vending machine.  Screw top, 300ml bottle made of… wait for it… aluminium!  They also have Coke in more ‘normal’ style cans, although a bit elongated.  These come in at least two sizes, 250ml and something larger (haven’t seen it close up).   On the right is the 250ml can, along with a couple other interesting cans in the hotel fridge: orange juice (still, not sparkling) and coffee.  Iced coffee.  Possibly black iced coffee.  Yes, this is a strange place…

Today (Thursday), I managed to take the afternoon off to slip in a bit of sight seeing.  I caught the train into Kyoto and walked down to the Imperial Palace.  For today, I’ll leave you with a smattering of images from this trip.  Enjoy.

One train has been painted with Thomas characters.  I saw it 3 times, or there is more than one like this.

One train has been painted with Thomas characters. I saw it 3 times, or there is more than one like this.

The Kamo River runs through Kyoto.

The Kamo River runs through Kyoto.

One of the gates into the Imperial Palace grounds.

One of the gates into the Imperial Palace grounds.

Inside the grounds, there are several palaces. This is one of the gates into one of the palaces.

Inside the grounds, there are several palaces. This is one of the gates into one of the palaces.

A quick panorama of the south wall of the Imperial Palace.

A quick panorama of the south wall of the Imperial Palace.

This was as close as I got to seeing the Imperial Palace proper, as I hadn't booked a tour and didn't want to argue with the guards.

This was as close as I got to seeing the Imperial Palace proper, as I hadn't booked a tour and didn't want to argue with the guards.

This tree was a bit like a Roll Up. See the next photo...

This tree was a bit like a Roll Up. See the next photo...

Yep, totally hollow.

Yep, totally hollow.

Tranquility in the palace grounds.

Tranquility in the palace grounds.

I read somewhere that you can't pump your own petrol in Japan. Notice the hoses hanging from the roof, waiting for the attendants to grab them as you pull up.

I read somewhere that you can't pump your own petrol in Japan. Notice the hoses hanging from the roof, waiting for the attendants to grab them as you pull up.

Kyoto street scene.

Kyoto street scene.

More of the Kamo River.

More of the Kamo River.

There were quite a few of these shrines dotted about the place. The swastika symbol is relevant to Buddhism, not Nazism.

There were quite a few of these shrines dotted about the place. The swastika symbol is relevant to Buddhism, not Nazism.

Back in Moriguschi, this clock is near my hotel. At certain times, the bells ring to form a tune (no doubt delightful, but I never heard it).

Back in Moriguschi, this clock is near my hotel. At certain times, the bells ring to form a tune (no doubt delightful, but I never heard it).

A close-up of the clock. Presumably the figures dance to the bells.

A close-up of the clock. Presumably the figures dance to the bells.

Near the clock is the place where plastic chairs go to die...

Near the clock is the place where plastic chairs go to die...

2 responses to “Japan – Days 2 to about 5

  1. Ha Ha good to see you managed to get your caffeine fix. Very cool photos love the roll up tree and the chair tree shame the train didn’t have Ben 10 on it though, Thomas is So last year in our house :-)

  2. Thanks for the pictures. Very interesting.

Leave a Reply

